ohthatpatrick
Thanks Received: 3808
Atticus Finch
Atticus Finch

Re: Q4 - Carol Morris wants to own

by ohthatpatrick Fri Dec 31, 1999 8:00 pm

What does the Question Stem tell us?
Explain Discrepancy (it looks like Strengthen until we see we're reading a paradox)

Break down the Stimulus:
Given that "Azedcorp owns a majority of THE DAILY and has stubbornly refused to sell", How could it be that "Morris WILL soon own THE DAILY"?

Any prephrase?
I'm not a stock expert, but if more shares were created and Morris bought those up, then maybe her number of shares could become the majority, even if Azedcorp kept all of theirs. Alternatively, mabye there's a reason Azedcorp would change its mind and agree to sell some shares.

Correct answer:
E

Answer choice analysis:
A) Who cares. We only care whether Azedcorp will sell its shares of the Daily (or if more shares will be created for Morris)

B) Maybe. This provides some incentive for Azedcorp selling its shares. However, is it clear that this extra money is enough to change Azedcorp's mind? (Also, it's possible that Azedcorp bought these shares many years ago. So ANYONE offering a respectable amount for the shares would be offering much more than what Azedcorp paid for them)

C) Doesn't help us explain why Azedcorp would change its mind. From what we know, there's no interest in selling shares.

D) Doesn't matter if Morris is #2. There's still no way to achieve a majority unless Azedcorp changes its mind and starts selling shares.

E) Sounds good! This is a the "reason Azedcorp would change its mind and agree to sell some shares".