Study and Strategy questions relating to the GMAT.
MamounK350
Forum Guests

Study plan and strategy after first CAT

by MamounK350 Mon Jan 02, 2023 12:20 pm

Hi,

I have been studying in the Interact program since 11/09/2022.

I wrote an email to Student Services on 11/22/2022 about which study strategy to adopt in order to prepare for the GMAT in one month, and they answered that I would have to double my daily workload in order to complete the entire Interact syllabus in one month. I was strongly encouraged to take a full-length practice test to adjust my workload based on how far I am from my goal score and my specific strengths and weaknesses, by section, problem type, and content area. I was also advised that if I was more than 130 points away from my goal score, I would be unlikely to complete the test in one month and that I would have to postpone my test date by at least 4 weeks. At that time, my goal was to take my test before January 4th (first deadline for the second round of applications to the masters I am interested in).

As requested, I took a first CAT on 11/25/2022, to which I scored 580 (Q37/V33), my goal score being 750. Since I was 170 points away from my goal score, I did as suggested and decided to apply to the third rounds rather than the second rounds of applications to the programs I am interested in and therefore decided to push back my test date to no later than 02/22/2023 (first deadline for the third rounds of applications to the masters programs I am interested in), the ideal test date being 02/12/2023 in order to allow room for unforeseen circumstances and also because I'm doing an internship during the week and because I have to take into account the deadline for the release of the official GMAT results.